The Winners of the 2024 Singapore Prize

The winners of this year’s Singapore prize were announced at a glitzy ceremony on Tuesday. Held at the Theatre Mediacorp, the event featured a star-studded line up of hosts, including actor Sterling K. Brown and actress Hannah Waddingham. Both stars walked the green carpet in matching outfits, with the Prince wearing a sharp dark velour suit and dickie bow while Waddingham donned a long black sparkling gown with a green sash.

The coveted award celebrates bold visionaries and their work to accelerate the pace of change for a sustainable future. The organisers hope to inspire others around the world by shining a spotlight on sustainability successes in Asia, and by supporting innovative solutions to the planet’s greatest challenges.

This year’s ceremony was held in partnership with United for Wildlife, an alliance of the world’s most forward-thinking businesses and conservationists that unites the power of business and purpose to accelerate the pace of change. The event also marked the first time that the prize has been awarded in Asia.

In his speech, the Prince noted that the Singapore prize is a “symbol of how our region can be more connected and collaborative.” He also highlighted the importance of collaboration between businesses and governments to address global challenges, and called for all of us to work together to make a difference.

A total of 15 winners were chosen for this year’s prize, with the winner of each category receiving a trophy and cash prize. The categories were:

This prize, administered by the Department of History of the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences at NUS, recognizes published works that make a substantial contribution to our understanding of Singapore’s past. It is open to authors who write in, or have their work translated into English and who address any period, theme or field of Singapore’s history.

The winner of this prize, which was first established in 2021, receives a cash prize of SGD50,000 and an engraved trophy. The shortlisted books are publicly announced and featured on the NUS History Prize website.

In addition to the main prizes, three special mentions were awarded at this year’s festival:

The NUS Singapore History Prize is awarded every three years. The winner of the 2024 prize will be announced in May 2024. The Prize is made possible by an endowed gift from an anonymous donor and is supported by NUS. The NUS History Prize is administered by a Jury Panel consisting of Professor Kishore Mahbubani, NUS Asia Research Institute distinguished fellow; novelist Meira Chand; archaeologist John Miksic; historian Peter Coclanis; and economist Lam San Ling. The panel is assisted by a Nominating Committee. The prize is open to authors of any nationality who publish their book in Singapore. A copy of the winning book will be donated to the NUS Library. All nominations must be received by the NUS History Prize office by 5 March 2024. See our Terms and Conditions for more information.