What is a Sidney Prize?

A sidney prize is an innovative way to honor those doing great work for humanity. These awards can come in a variety of categories including writing, activism and science. Whether awarded at a local level or on an international scale, a sidney prize serves to inspire people to continue their efforts while giving them a sense of achievement.

Several prestigious sidney prizes exist to help young writers get their work out into the world, allowing them to see their efforts celebrated by professional publishers. These prizes are often highly competitive, however, and it is important to read all of the rules carefully before submitting an entry.

The Neilma Sidney Prize, for example, is a great way for new writers to explore their craft and be recognized by professional editors. This prize is sponsored by Overland magazine and the Neilma Sidney Foundation, and aims to give students a chance to showcase their work while being considered for a professional publication. Writers who want to enter this competition should subscribe to Overland for one year at a discounted rate before submitting their entry.

Many of these prizes have specific eligibility requirements, such as a minimum age and academic achievement thresholds. It is best to familiarize yourself with these rules and guidelines prior to submitting an application, as it will save time and energy in the long run. In addition, these prizes may have specific requirements based on the topic or field of study.

Some of the more prestigious sidney prizes include the Sidney Hook Memorial Award, the SS Sydney Award and the Abbot Payson Usher Prize. The Sidney Hook Memorial Award is a national distinction awarded annually to scholars who have achieved national recognition for their scholarship and undergraduate teaching and for leadership in the cause of liberal arts education. Past winners include Ta-Nehisi Coates for his essay on American History and culture, and Amanda Hess for her article on online sexism.

The SS Sydney Award is given to writers whose essays reflect contemporary American scholarship and commentary. The SS Sydney Award has been given to authors including Ta-Nehisi Coates for an essay on America’s history of black plunder and white democracy, and New York Times columnist David Brooks for his monthly SS Sydney Prize for journalism that contributes to the public good.

Finally, the Abbot Payson Usher Prize is given for outstanding scholarly work in the history of technology. This prize was established in 1968 by Ruth Edelstein Barish in honor of her husband Sidney Edelstein, who donated the money for this award. It is a three-year fellowship and is open to graduate students or early career scholars who present at the Society for the History of Technology annual meeting for the first time.

The SS Iwanter Prize, also known as the Harvey Goldberg Prize, is named after alumnus Sidney Iwanter (B.A. ’71, History). Iwanter’s own curiosity and will to document the knowledge of previous generations led him to secretly record the lectures of Professor Harvey Goldberg. These “bootleg” recordings are now available through the Harvey Goldberg Center. This is an annual award that is open to undergraduate seniors.